Back in February I went to a screening of Leviathan at USC. If I am being frank, I was drawn to the screening because of the amount of hype that was surrounding the film, rather than the story itself, which seemed like another Russian tale about class and gender in the vein of Dostoevsky and Tolstoy. Leviathan is set in Teriberka, Murmansk. The setting is relevant because it is essentially in the middle of no where. The way that the director of the film Andrey Zvyganistev captures the desolate, beautiful landscape is the chief accomplishment of the film, in my opinion at least. The story itself is a classic Russian tale. It centers around a blue collared family: Kolya, a hot headed, unemployed man of simple intelligence and means, Lilia, his younger wife who is unhappy with her simple life and relatively unsuccessful marriage, and Roma, Kolya’s rebellious teenage son from his previous marriage. The family seemingly unravels as Kolya tries to fight Vadim’s, the crooked mayor, unlawful repossession of his house. Vadim has been tasked by a higher ranking Russian official to seize the property so that it can be used as his vacation home. In this battle drawn, along the lines of class, Kolya loses everything. Lilia has an affair with his old army friend who was supposed to come from Moscow to help him fight the case in the court. She is then murdered or commits suicide, the film doesn't specify, but Kolya is framed and sent to prison. The film closes with the house being torn down.
The film received a lot of publicity because it was so controversial in Russia. Critics, mainly from the government, claimed that the film was a poor representation of Russians. It depicted them as simple, temperamental, and alcoholic. From watching the film, it became clear that the real problem with the film stemmed from its critical depiction of Russian government. The Russian bureaucracy looks cold, authoritarian, and corrupt. There is a court scene that is about 5 minutes, where the judge reads the verdict of the case. Her words are destroying Kolya’s life, but she reads the statement mechanically and unflinchingly. The camera is solely focused on the judges face the whole time. This criticism is also made through Vadim. He belligerently breaks laws. He has ultimate rule. He is king of fiefdom. Some critics claim that he is a caricature of Putin.
My personal evaluation of the film is that it is exemplary of masterful filmmaking and acting. The cinematography is simply breathtaking. While the extremely long takes underscore the hopelessness of Kolya’s situation, it also makes for a rather slow paced film. I believe that the story would have had a little more impact if it was paced with a little more variety. The allegories in the film are what “trip me up” a little more. As an American I almost feel guilty watching the film. It is a Russian’s criticism of Russian governance and culture. It criticizes everything: from the rampant corruption, to the sexism, to the archaic machismo present in Russian culture. While this may be a fair criticism to make; I’ve heard my father echo many of these opinions about Russian culture, I can’t help but ask myself, “who am I to accept these criticisms?” I then wonder if a film that similarly criticizes American culture in such a specific and methodical way could be made. I don’t mean Borat or Family Guy either. I mean a live action, 3 hour long epic, that systematically breaks down the flaws in American culture and governance. I’m not sure if American’s would accept the film. I actually think it would cause an uproar, similar to what happened in Russia.
Leviathan received a plethora of accolades from western film festivals and award committees. While the acting was brave and honest, and the camera was masterfully operated, I believe that the plethora of accolades had more to do with the political message of the film. Which I suppose isn't a fault in of itself but all I am saying is that it’s easy for many westerners to watch that film, have their notions of Russia confirmed, and then feel more secure about their culture and government.
“Those who live in glass houses shouldn't throw stones”; I mean, didn't American Sniper just come out? What the hell was that shit?
No comments:
Post a Comment