I found this television documentary to be eye opening and
unfortunate at the same time. Although I think it’s wrong to portray a nation
and disclose them of their complications, this show reminded me about the true
struggles of living in this world. The show where these Romanians, who are not
trying to cheat the system but to make money to provide some sort of stable
environment for their family exposes the raw realities of living. People hate
and discriminate them as if they are nobody. Although the cast portrayed might
be nobody, at the end of the day they are still human beings just like us and
are searching ways to survive just like us. If I were to put myself into their
shoes the sheer brutality of overcoming the language barrier and the pressure
to provide for my family where I’m all they've got in terms of surviving would be immense and I would probably be doing the same thing. So when I see the emotions of them crying from
failure to have a basic conversation and the overt joy in getting a crummy day
job, I can completely sympathize with them because of their circumstance. On
the other hand, that is what the show sets out to do and it disgusts me because
the show is greatly benefiting out of their miseries. I mean the show in
general is discriminates toward the Romanians and denigrates a nation of hard
working people. There are many people of many ethnicities that go to London
(let alone anywhere) to find work in similar situations as the Romanians. This
show degrades and stereotypes the Romanian community by focusing on just the
unintelligent and bottom of the barrel citizens, when in reality all types of
ethnicity have similar people. This documentary I believe is made with a
derogatory language where it deliberately confuses the differences between
Romanians and gypsies. As a result, the
documentary abuses and pities the Romanian nation in a very humiliating way.
No comments:
Post a Comment